There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2005-06-22 � 8:21 a.m.

I�m such a snob. When did that happen?


I don�t know how many of you have discovered the sweaty, exhaustive joy that is a spinning class, but for those that don�t know, spinning in an instructor-lead cycling class, which utilizes a single-wheel bike, with 3-position handle bars, and an adjustable tension knob that increases or decreases the resistance, mimicking hills and so forth.

There really is a huge difference between spinning cycles and the electronic �Life Cycle� kind, which has a digital display, etc. On a spin bike, you can actually stand up and pedal along up a big hill, just as you could on a real bike. Spinning cycles are pretty close to real cycles, but without the honking drivers, dusty eyes, wind, and sunburn.

I�m totally hooked on it.

I should tell you now that I�m in no way a cyclist. I have a shitty mountain bike that some friends gave me a few years ago, but I almost never ride it. Many people that spin are hardcore cyclists that do 80+ miles loops through the farm country on weekends. Not this kid, I�m too goddamned lazy.

About 4 months ago I started doing it, spinning that is, though I was shamed into going to the first class by my boss. I was NOT into the class thing, being quite sure that I�d be able to provide sufficient challenge for myself, without a group of people around me and some drill instructor telling me what to do. I was wrong.

The first few sessions of spin class kicked my ass so hard I don�t think I could sit for a week. It was incredible just how much you can push yourself, which I learned. I further learned that there is no way in hell that I could get my own lazy ass to do this alone. So, I stuck it out.

There are two very good instructors at my gym in Fort Collins. Both make me sweat like being tied down in a room full of hungry rats. Thursday�s class, however, found my favorite instructor, Raja, gone and there was a substitute. I know this is only temporary, and that�s keeping me sane.

This woman, whose name was Dion, just didn�t compare on any level. Several people in the class told her how difficult Raja�s class is, and she said she�d try to make it just as hard. Well, it was as hard as day by the pool in Mexico. I still did sweat, but I had to really push it. She was nice enough, of course, but would really have benefited from even half the personality nature gave a garden slug. I was so bored that I had to make believe I was in a different class.

I don�t know specifically when I became such a spin snob, since I�ve only been doing this for a short time, but clearly I feel put out by this pathetic switching of an advanced class with a beginner. If this class had been my first, I would have thought it was a joke and would never have gone back. Well, think of me what you will, I know what I like.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 0 Quips to Date



Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings