There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2005-10-14 �

Gig with Elana

Another gig.

Last night I played a show with Elana Rogers. Elana is a singer/songwriter from Dallas, TX, who moved here to Denver a few years ago. My dear friend David Derby, who I�ve mentioned before, put me in touch with her (or her in touch with me, actually) because she was looking for a drummer. When we finally did contact each other, she had already found a drummer for her band, but she needed someone to fill in for this show she had booked. Her new drummer is out of town or something.

Anyway, she told me it was an important gig and would really appreciate having me do it. So, I learned her music and a few covers for a total of 12 songs. At this time I was also learning the songs in my new band, so I�ve been BUSY with music the last few weeks! Her music though is really good. It�s got a lot of subtlety (what a strange word!) to it, a lot of stops, and some really cool beats and grooves.

I had a crappy quality but functional live recording of her from her CD release party this spring, which fortunately had all of the song but one on it. There were some fun covers, including: In Your Eyes by Peter Gabriel, Meet You in the Tower, by OURS, Drugs Don�t Work by The Verve, and You May be Right, by Billy Joel. The Peter Gabriel version is not my favorite, but I put down an interesting groove for it, very toms-driven, and it added something to it IMHO.

In other news, the band that I�m in, The Bad Directions, is moving along well. I�m very comfortable with the music (read as I know the changes), I like it, and it�s fun besides. It�s also good for my technique since it�s a very snare-driven type of music. We�re doing a CD release party show next Friday, 10/21, at the Soiled Dove in Denver, which is a great venue. I�ve seen some great shows there and I�ve always wanted to play there, so here we go!

This seems like a lame entry, but it�s all I got right now. Peace out, yo!

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 0 Quips to Date



Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings