There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2009-01-20 �

The country is renewed!

The world is a better place today. I feel it; I know it. It may a bit presumptuous of me to say it, because unlike what they said in that 80's song, I am not one of those Americans who believes that we are the world.

All that notwithstanding though, I do know that America, namely the United States, is deeply entrenched in the world's economy, in the world's political system, in wars, terrorism, religion, etc. We are an enormous part of this world, and there are very few people who have not heard of us and heard (at least recently) of our new president, Barack Obama.

I wasn't all in for Obama at first, I have to be honest with you. I was going to vote for Hillary. I thought she was a stronger candidate, I thought she was better in many, many ways, and she was firm and a great speaker. She never wavered when she was speaking publicly; never stammered. Obama often did early on, and dodged questions too.

I don't like how Hillary ran her campaign though. She started throwing stones at Obama from the beginning, and played really shitty politics, which I didn't like. That's not what happened to her though. People are afraid of Hillary, especially men. Most men talk tough and even speak of equality, but still today men can't abide having a female figure with Hillary's strength of character. She intimidates people because she fucking rocks. It's that simple. And most men are just whiney vadges at heart. I know, because I am one. Say what you want, most men don't like strong women - they want to be the man.

It has been proposed that Hillary didn't make it because most people are more afraid of being racist than sexist, and with Obama being black, well...I suppose there could be something to this as well. As much as I don't want to give it credence and I want to make excuses for my countrymen *sigh* I can't.

None of that matters anymore though, because the worst president that we have ever had has thankfully been ejected from the White House, and Obama is now the President. As his campaign progressed, I came to like Obama, and truly believe in him. I appreciate his honesty, his candor, and his willingness to leave the bullshit aside and say "look people, the short term is going to suck balls, but I won't keep you in the dark and if you stick with me, work hard, and be cool, we'll get through it." I have come to adore Barack.

I'm not sure that I was ever afraid that the grumpy old man would win, but I'm glad that he didn't, because the world needs a reason to like us again. George W. Bush was one of the most duplicitous mother fuckers that this country has ever seen, and I think that he should have to answer for what he did to us. He won't though and at least he's gone, so whatever.

Today, I am truly proud to be an American for the first time in many years, and I am proud to say that I voted for Barack Obama. More excited than I can tell you that I truly had someone to vote for rather than someone to vote against. I'm even more proud to tell you that my life-long Republican parents both voted for him too, as did my 92-year old grandmother. Yes, the world is breathing a sigh of relief today, and America can begin to heal. The lies are over, the web of deceit that was spun by Bush, Cheney, Rove, DeLay, and all those others that have run our country, our troops, our reputation, and our integrity into the ground for 8 years can be cleared out.

Know that it will still be tough, but the neosporin and bandages just got put on our wounds, and we will heal. We still hurt, but we will heal now that we have a chance. Throw the windows wide and breathe deeply of the winds of change. Step out and enjoy your freedom. America is beautiful again.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 7 Quips to Date


stepfordtart - 2009-01-20 20:32:58
nice entry! Also, as I am having a monumentally hideous time at work at the mo, due in part to me refusing to roll over and play dead for the big wigs, your stuff about 'whiny vadges' made me feel a teeny bit better. Thanks very much. Much appreciated. s x
-------------------------------
Dan - 2009-01-21 18:42:56
I'm with you, TJ. I'm still letting my eyes adjust from being in the dark for the past 8 years, but it truly does feel like something tangible has changed. Sure would be nice if Gee Dub and his brain trust ended up in The Hague, though. I like the new look, by the way.
-------------------------------
Anna - 2009-01-22 01:16:26
You used the very same opening sentence I would have used. It really does feel like a better, safer place. We're all a bit jaundiced here after Blair, but he marked the end of Thatcherism rather than being a figure of anything himself. And hey, Tim, thanks for the offer of verse - any time, man, any time!!
-------------------------------
Hippy - 2009-01-22 18:54:51
America, Fuck Yeah! I like it TJ. I'm more keen to get my citizenship now than I ever have been.
-------------------------------
Anna - 2009-01-23 11:31:24
Thanks Tim - that's the kind of travel info I need. I'm flying from CA to MI but changing planes in Denver - spending a month (April) in America altogether, visiting d'land buddies. And look at that Obama go - he's getting stuck right in to the serious stuff, isn't he? x
-------------------------------
Tbone - 2009-01-25 21:18:34
What a wonderful change for the entire human race! Woof!
-------------------------------
sjb - 2010-08-26 04:56:37
Fantastic writing as usual - I am wondering if u still feel this way? Peace Man! Don't discuss politics with me - no interest or knowledge. Now, the human soul and each individual's life journey ... that's MAGICAL. Screw politics! Thx for the open forum TJ.
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings