There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2007-10-29 � 2:09 p.m.

Need a housekeeper?

Shit. Fuck. Shitfuck. Well, put whatever colorful expletive on it that you like. The fact remains that last Tuesday, I got laid off. Well, sort of. You see, I work for a consulting company and what I do is very specialized. My company does a wide array of things, but I only do validation, which I�ve written about before.

The long and short of it is, my company has run out of validation clients and I don�t really know how to do anything else there. There is another client that my company has I could�ve worked at, but the project lead doesn�t like me because when I was working there before, I was always asking him why we had to do this or that. I was looking for understanding, but he thought I wasn�t respecting his authorita [/cartman] so I can�t work there because he doesn�t want me to. Word is he�s a control freak asshole that only gets along with the new employees fresh out of college anyway, so fuck him. Oh, hell. He was probably just mad because I had several other projects going and couldn't give his project my full attention. Plus, I got pulled back by my boss at least twice for 3 or 4 days because she needed me to work with another client. Maybe he thinks that was my fault too. The rest of this paragraph notwithstanding, the truth is I'm not really even upset about it.

So, I�m in California now working on a freezer, and after I�m done with it, I�m selling off the last of my vacation time, and I�m out of a job. Wow. My boss was cool about it though and I could tell that she felt bad, but without clients, I�ve got no billable hours. Without billable hours, I�ve got no job. It�s not her fault; it�s the nature of the beast. Truth be told, I�ve be doing validation for 7 years now and I�m sick of it anyway, which is why I'm not mad at that guy I spoke of earlier. I think it�s time for me to find something that I enjoy doing. At least I got 2 weeks notice.

Of course, I�d have rather hit the job market in my own time. That is, I prefer to look for a job while I still have one. But these things happen, and this sudden change in status isn�t putting me in any financial hardship right now, so I�ve got that going for me. I�m thinking about pursuing a job in sales. I�d have to start at the bottom, but if I�m good at it the blow to the wallet would only be temporary.

Why sales? Well, I�ve had a number of people tell me over the years that I would be good at sales, and how come I�m not in sales? And I can�t believe you�re not in sales! I�ve just got that kind of personality. I�m good with names, I�m personable, I can usually find something in common with anyone, I like to be on the phone, and I�m a talker, oh boy, am I a talker. Now that�s not to say that it�s banal chatter, I�m not someone who rattles on incessantly so that one can never get a word in edgewise. I fucking HATE those people. No, I�m also a very good listener. I suppose it�s more accurate to say that I�m a conversationalist.

So, now I have to wait and see. Thanks to Monster.com, which is responsible for my last two job changes (both of which were nice increases in salary), I have submitted several r�sum�s thus far � for local jobs. I�ll keep looking, of course, and I always have validation to fall back on, I suppose. With validation comes travel though, and it might be nice to stay home for a while. I�m also hoping to find something close to home, as I�ve been commuting 40 miles one way to work for the last 3 years.

Wish me luck!

Update 11/7/07

Life is strange.

So I showed up at the office today to pack up my cube, turn in my computer and the like. While I was sitting with my boss and the HR lady, my boss says, "TJ, would you be willing to do some 1099 contract work for us? I have a few things that came up from some clients blahdy blah."

Since I haven't found another job yet, I happily said yes. She told me to keep my laptop and my work email account will stay open. Oh, and I get 25% more money. Woohoo!

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 1 Quips to Date


Al - 2007-10-30 08:17:09
Shit. Good Luck. I would buy shit from you.
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings