There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2008-02-27 � 11:00 p.m.

Up in the glaciers

So much has happened since I last updated, please forgive this, which I believe is my longest lapse ever. You see, after getting fucked by that guy at my last company � he basically black balled me � I had a really hard time finding work. Several things were working against me. 1), it was near the end of the year and no one had a budget. 2), Even though my old boss was nice and threw me a bone occasionally, the work was so sporadic that it didn�t even amount to anything except some occasional drinking money, and 3) a previous company that I worked for had a major round of layoffs only a month before I got laid off, and that basically saturated the market in my industry. Finally, 4) though I had grand plans to start a new career in sales, I�ve no experience in it, and no one would give me the time of day.

So what I should have done is file for unemployment right away. But having never been unemployed for more than 2 weeks in my life, and having also a good amount in savings, I didn�t do it. I�ll be honest too; I was too fucking proud (stupid) to file right away. I�m no loser right? This is where you agree. Now, I know that we all pay into it and it was mine by rights, but since I had a few paychecks in the bank and was optimistic (stupid) that I could get a job in a short time (stupid) and that the contract work that my previous company was giving me was going to keep me going for a while (stupid, stupid).

So anyway, after several unsuccessful job interviews, I landed another consulting gig in Madison, Wisconsin. What�s cool about this situation is that my sister, Liz, who all 3 of you who are my avid readers are familiar with, lives in the Madison area. I actually really like Madison. The job is a Validation gig, which is what I know, and it�s a plant that being built, which is an experience that I haven�t had in a good many years. It�s loads of fun though, because every day new things are added and it�s a new job every time I go to work as a result.

More than this, it�s good money, and I get to go home every weekend, which is very nice. It�s hard to travel so much but for a travelling guy like me, it�s the best of both worlds, as it were.

There are some great people here, including my direct coworker, Christine (a Minnesotan), and also the weld inspector, Stephen, who is from England. I�ve always gotten along very well with Brits anyways, and this guy is just the cat�s ass. He�s teaching me all sorts of Cockney rhyming slang too, which is always nice to throw out when you have to go for a Tom.

I�ll have loads more to tell, but I just wanted to give you all something to chew on now, since it�s been about 27 years since I�ve updated the diary. Again, let me apologize for the lapse but while I wasn�t working, I was really uninspired and a bit despondent. More to come soon, I promise. Even though it�s colder than a polar bear�s arse here in WI, things are looking up for me and I have a good bunch of folks that I work with. More to come very, very soon � I promise.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 1 Quips to Date


golfwidow - 2008-02-28 08:52:43
I'm recently laid off myself. I'm in hell.
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings