There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2006-10-17 � 10:51 p.m.

I'm a model!

Well sportsfans, it's official. I am a for-real calendar model.

For those who read this blog, you know that I am, among other things, a skeptic. Skepticism isn't about nay-saying or being cynical, but rather about taking arguments on their own merit and, well, just wanting some proof. Taking someone's word for it just isn't good enough. One of the premier skeptics of our lifetime was the irreplaceable Carl Sagan, who said it best: "Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence."

We are often thought of as closed-minded, crotchety, old shitheads with nothing better to do than stir up trouble. This is far from the truth. Skeptics are of all ages, both genders, and sometimes might be fun to look at. To that end, I present you with: *cue drumroll*

THE SKEPCHICK AND SKEPDUDE 2007 CALENDAR

No, smart ass, I'm not in the skepchick calendar. Did you think that was clever?

Sorry, I digress. I can be found with 13 other studly skeptical men in the skepdude calendar, and I would highly recommend the skepchick calendar as well *wink*. There is a skepchick 2006 calendar on the wall behind me right now, and it is a joy to behold.

The point of these calendars is to get people to The Amaz!ng Meeting, the country's largest skeptical gathering. I attended this year, and will be attending for as long as they have them, most likely. You see, the skeptical community IS weighted more on the male side, for any number of reasons. Those of us in the know, as it were, would like to see more women at these gatherings, so that critical thinking can thrive. Knowledge and critical thinking are both suppressed by our society, which both saddens and disgusts me. Case in point: Intelligent Design being taught in schools.

Free thought and science will keep us progressing as a people, not devolving back into the dark ages. To that end, the proceeds from the sale of this calendar will pay the registration fees for people to attend the aforementioned skeptical gathering. In Las Vegas. In January.

To sum it up, BUY ME, I'M FOR SALE!!!!!!!!

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 1 Quips to Date


Elaine - 2006-10-20 19:10:32
However, some of girls like the odds just fine.
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings