There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2008-09-15 � 9:16 p.m.

Richard Wright R.I.P.

I�m sad. So very sad, words nearly escape me. I just read that Richard Wright, one of the founding members of Pink Floyd died today of cancer. Bugger. I�ve literally been listening to Pink Floyd for my whole life thanks to the influence of my older brother, Carl, who had good taste in music.

Fuck cancer.

I suppose the lord (who works in mysterious ways, after all) had a reason for inventing this incredibly virulent disease � or any disease for that matter � to kill off all of his children that the holy men tell us ad nauseum that he loves so much, but for fuck�s sake already. Hasn�t it killed enough people already? Isn�t your fucking toll road paid for yet?

For those of you who know and love Pink Floyd, I�m sure you�re sad with me. For those that don�t know Pink Floyd�s music, I�m sorry. You�ve missed out on decades of great memories. They were great with Roger Waters (who is a musical genius, but somehow was shite without the band. Hmm.), they were great without him, but Richard Wright�s keyboards were so sublime, so�integral to the sound, presence, power, relevance, and meaning of the band, that I can�t stand the fact that he�s gone.

If I cry into the keyboard of this fucking Hateway and short circuit the goddamn thing, it will be poetic justice. Who could imagine a song like Shine on Crazy Diamond without Richard Wright? Oh, I know how good the guitar is, David Gilmour had the voice and guitar to add, but how many voices did Richard�s keyboard have?

It�s not like they were even still making music, I mean fuck, he was 65 years old. I�m not sad because of the things that we may have missed; the music that he could have made if he hadn�t died so young. It�s not like that. It�s just not fair that someone who gave so much joy � that moved so many- couldn�t have died peacefully of old age. The same happened to George Harrison and I was sad for him too, but not nearly as much since the Beatles never meant a gob of spit to me like Pink Floyd did.

Fuck cancer.

Who invented this stuff? Oh, that�s right. It was god. How nice of him.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 3 Quips to Date


stepfordtart - 2008-09-16 18:05:39
Amen to that! s x
-------------------------------
Dan - 2008-09-19 12:47:39
I saw the news ,too, TJ. I was devastated when I heard. He was really the glue that held one of the greatest bands of all time together. In a group that has changed more than most since they started up, he and Nick Mason were the only two remaining original members. Richard Wright was the perfect middle man. He channeled Syd's madness into the masterpiece that is "Astronomy Domine", and he was the buffer between the volatile Waters and Gilmour. Like Waters, his solo attempt was pretty much crap, but nobody can deny that "Time" and "Echoes" are two of the greatest rock compositions of all time. I'm glad I got to see them at Soldier Field in the 90's when I had the chance. As sad as the news was, I must admit that one good thing that came of it was that it lit the Pink Floyd fire inside me again that had gone dormant for a while. I've been listening to the great old records that people don't give enough credit to like "Meddle", "Piper", and "Obscured by Clouds." Beautiful... So long, Richard, and thanks.
-------------------------------
Dan - 2008-09-19 12:50:33
Sorry, I misspelled the link in my tag. This one should be correct. Not that it needed to be corrected, but that's just how anal I am...
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings