There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2008-11-18 �

Liberty

Spokane, Post Falls, and the Lake of Liberty.

I�ve started my new project as of yesterday, and I�m going to be moving into my new apartment in Liberty Lake, Washington tomorrow. My first impression of the greater Spokane area is that no Democrat could ever stand a chance here. You can smell the flags of patriotism for the good ol� U S of fuckin� A waving everywhere.

It�s really pretty country though, and interestingly enough is both arid and forested, depending on where you look. For those of you who are Johnny Depp fans, the quirky love story, Benny and Joon (1993), which starred Aidan Quinn (whatever happened to that guy?), Mary Stuart Masterson, and Julianne Moore (with a wretched hairstyle), was filmed here in Spokane.

Spokane is a blue collar town, and I�m told there is a lot of meth to be had. I don�t do meth, but it�s nice to know that I can get a quick fix if I need one. Of course, it�ll take me a while to winnow my way into the seedy underbelly of Spokane�s drug trade, but it�s just a matter of time. Cause you all know how homey roll now don�cha?

The apartment that they are renting for me in Liberty Lake is right on a golf course, which I�ll be able to enjoy for my last month on this project, after the glacier recedes. The great thing is that it�s only about 5 miles from the job site, which is pretty nice. And from what I can see from the freeway, there is a nice shopping center right close by as well. I like to have a market close by, especially between work and home. If the store is out of the way, it�s much less convenient for me to go shopping, and I don�t like to be inconvenienced.

I had better start putting together a shopping list right away. Let�s see:
Coffee, Cream
Bourbon, Coca-cola
Frozen food, pastas
Soap (body, laundry, and dish)
That should do it for now. Maybe I�ll grab some chips or whatever too, we�ll see how I feel when I get there. It also depends on what is in the apartment. Like if I need to buy a coffee maker and what not. You just have to be able to adapt to the situation on the fly, you know? I mean seriously. I might have to buy a bottle opener or something too, you just never know.

The company that I work for makes allergens. They grow dust mites, grind up cat, dog, and horse hair, concentrate pollen, all kinds of stuff like that. I�ll either get over my allergies or blow up like Violet Beauregard from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I guess we�ll just have to wait and see. In the meantime, I�ve one more day in my mall-side hotel, and I�ll just try to stay busy.

Well toodles for now, kids. Stay sane.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 3 Quips to Date


Dan - 2008-11-19 13:37:42
I'm not sure if Umpa Lumpas can survive in Washington so it's probably best if you get over your allergies. Wow, I didn't realize that you'd be so close to Coeur D'Alene. They've got some great off piste skiing there. You've got to be sure to strap some sticks on while you're there.
-------------------------------
stepfordtart - 2008-11-19 19:14:53
If you do the Violet thing, can you get pictures? That would be waaaaaaay cool! s x
-------------------------------
Liz - 2008-11-21 17:46:54
What happened to Idaho??
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings