There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2006-03-22 � 8:36 a.m.

More bowling!

Bowling for Mondays.

Monday night�s bowling was�awesome. My bowling league, which I�ve written about before, is called T.B.I.M., which is short for Too Bad It�s Monday. It�s a very well established league, at a 30-year old bowling alley, Centennial Lanes.

When the league started, the team consisted of: me, Kim, Heather, and Kim. The second Kim left two months or so ago due to some personal goings-on and the reality that a commitment to a 33-week league is hard to live up to. It is, for sure. I think the only season that�s longer is NHL. 8. Months. Of. Bowling. OMFG.

Anyway, Kim left, agreeing to pay out the season and we had to find a replacement right away. Enter Al, my Welsh friend. Al had bowled a total of�[how many was it Al? 5 times?] not very many times before joining my team. This didn�t really bother me since my team is in last place by a very large margin. We�re not good, but we have a good time.

Yesterday my team, Split This!, went up against a team called �4� Pins Sakes. Don�t ask me why they quoted the 4, I have no idea. We all bowled well the first game, in fact Heather was the star of the show, rolling a 213!!! Give it up for my bowla sista, yo! Heather�s slowly descending average over the course of this season has been no little source of frustration for her, but last night was magic. I�ve never seen her bowl with so much control.

I picked up most of my spares, but I threw a lot of strike balls that ended up leaving 1 pin. GRRR!!!. I couldn�t be upset though, not with Heather�s incredible run. Kim was over average 2 out of 3 games, I was over all 3 games, and Al was over, at, then under. Still, it was a decisive 3 out of 4 victory for us, which we haven�t seen since�well, I�m not sure we�ve seen it this season! Ah, it felt good.

Monday�s game was also riddled with great quotes and misquotes. Evidence:

(Me, after missing a fairly easy spare)

�Too much Head Pin, I needed to get less of it.�

Al: �What did you say?�

(Me, speaking to Al)

�Your ball hooks right? What are you, retarded?�

(Kim speaking to Al as he�s getting ready to throw)

�Come on, Al! Show us the Money Shot!�

(Al rolls, gets 2 pins on one side. He�s laughing)

�That had me thinking of all sorts of things.�

(Me to Al, same frame)

Come on, Al! Aim for the nose!

(He rolls a spare)

�MONEY!�

Then on the way home, I realized another pet peeve of mine. Hyphenation. It�s like this, people. If you�re using two words to act as a single modifier for the noun, you hyphenate, like this:

Worst case, we have to cancel the race!

The worst-case condition is cancellation.

On the sign at a used car lot very near my house were these four words:

Nice one owner cars

I read this as Nice one! Owner cars.

WTF?

Here�s how to fix it:

Nice one-owner cars.

There now, isn�t that better?

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 3 Quips to Date


golfwidow - 2006-03-22 13:56:02
Then there's the other side of the hyphenation coin: the ones who can't stay away from them. You'll know them because they'll send you e-mails telling you they've up-dated their Live-Journals.
-------------------------------
Al - 2006-03-30 16:08:10
I can-attest to the bowling, it was-a great night. I still didn'-t get to throw a-money shot-though.
-------------------------------
Ann - 2006-03-30 16:29:28
Brought back fine memories of being on a bowling league when I was in the 2nd grade!?!?! My partner/best friend and I would always do badly when bowling against the "cute boys"...
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings