There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2005-08-30 � 6:35 a.m.

New Shoes

New shoes

Last night was the beginning of the fall bowling league at the incomparable Centennial Lanes in Longmont, Colorado. The team is about � the same as last season, including me (not too obvious, I know), Kim, Heather, and our new addition this season, Kim. It�s Heather and the ims! Wow, that was really lame. *sheepish look*

It was kind of a mad scramble right at first with all of the checks to write, sanction cards to fill out, etc., so the 15 minutes of practice we usually get was limited.

I just got some new bowling shoes last week, and hadn�t had a chance to try them out yet. Why new shoes? The shoes that I had were my father�s, from when he bowled in a league in 1967. This predates me by more than two years, since I was born 3 and one half weeks before 1970. The shoes were a blonde-colored leather; really comfy and just the right size. So what�s the problem you ask? Jesus Christ, haven�t you been listening? The shoes are nearly 40 years old!

Given the dotage of my shoes, I retired them and spent $100 on some new Dexter shoes. Needless to say, footware technology has advanced plenty, and so has bowling technology. The latter can kiss my ass though. I still use my Dad�s 1959 (ish) Ebonite Tornado, all-rubber ball. I may end up getting a second ball for hooks (if I get really serious about bowling), but they�ll have to pry Dad�s ball out of my cold dead fingers.

Where was I? Oh, I remember now, the shoes. Stop distracting me, OK? The new Dexter shoes I literally pulled out of the box in the bowling alley parking lot, put them in my bag, went in, and put them on. Now I was immediately impressed with how comfortable they were. Really snuggly. But they�re built differently, as I was to find out.

So there I was, the thunder-like roll of the balls and crashing of pins all around me. Concentrating, since I hadn�t bowled in months, I set up like I always have, and started my advance. The ball in my right hand shoots forward with my left foot�swings back with my right foot�comes forward with the slide of my left foot and the release�HOLY SHIT WHAT THE FUCK JUST�OW! *The foul buzzer is going off calling attention to my prone position*..How the hell did I end up face down on the lane with my arms sliding around on the lane oil? My knees hurt.

Alright, lets run through this again�the ball comes forward with the left foot slide�Aha! There was no slide! My right shoe bottom consists of leather and felt. The sole of the left shoe, on the other hand, has a kind of soft rubber from the heel cut to just forward of the ball of the foot. It�s supposed to stop your foot! Wow, it sure works great. You put your weight on that sole and it stops dead. Well, that�s going to take some getting used to! I wasn�t expecting my foot to stop so abruptly, so my weight/balance was all discombobulated and I went shooting down the lane from the inertia of the 16-lb ball and my own forward momentum.

I was able to recombobulate before the league play started, and I ended up bowling just fine (2 games above average, and one slightly under). Actually, I really like the fact that my foot stops, but holy roller Batman! When you�re not expecting it, it can make for an awkward moment. That�s right kids, the first roll of the first night of 33 weeks of bowling league and I try the never-recommended slip and slide. Shit.

The team we played against on this first night was the team that won the league last year, so they were pretty good. I think my team was in 15th (out of 18) at the end of the season. Basically, we sucked. They didn�t really pick on us or anything, even though it was a clean sweep score-wise. The two women on their team, Marge and Mary, were both really cool.

I love the team this season. Everyone gets along well and we�re very supportive of each other. There are plenty of high fives and giggling going on the whole time we�re playing, which is awesome. This night was extra special because Kim's girlfriend, Kim (that's her name, do you think I'm making this up?) was present also, and was a big part of the fun we were having. She's A LOT of fun. Of course, I was the only one drinking, but I have no problem with drinking alone. *Cue George Thorogood here*

Memorable quotes from the evening:

Kim (while bowling what ended up to be her best game):
�I�m kicking my own ass!�

Ed (from the other team) during our first game:
�What, is this a new team or sumpm?�

Kim (after the other Kim threw several gutter balls in a row): �You�re turning your wrist.�
(other) Kim: �I gotta find a different ball.�


Something completely different:

Strange observations from the last few days

CSU Rams (football team) Billboard slogan and even catchy jingle on low-budget TV:

Let�s go RAMin�!!!

Lameness factor: 8
Chance that it would be mistaken for a demolition derby: 62%

Why do they make cakes with frosting that looks like frosting, but it�s really only slightly sweetened whipped cream? What am I a diabetic? AAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHH!!!!!

Lameness factor: 9
Chance that you�ll taste is before you realize it�s a sham: 90%


previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 3 Quips to Date


Cyndi - 2005-08-30 20:21:15
Who...didn't know you bowled. Sounds like you guys are having a kick ass time. Glad to hear that Kim is on your team, as she should be. Kick some ass girlfriend!!! When I get out there, we are all going to have to knock some pins down. I am an ace in the hole....NOT...but look good trying!!! :)
-------------------------------
Glenn Ingle - 2005-08-31 22:28:32
2 bands, a heavy management position, countless trips to AZ and Mexico and you still need another hobby. Are you doing Crack? LOL
-------------------------------
Ann - 2005-09-22 21:58:44
HA-HA-HA!!!! I LOVE the mental picture of you being stopped dead and lying face down in the lane!! What fun!
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings