There are some who call me...Tim

Navigate
+ Latest Entry
+ Older Entries


Site Information
+ Profile
+ Host
+ Recommend Me


Contact Information
+ E-Mail
+ Diaryland Notes


My Band Links (New and Old)
+ Bad Directions
+ Lickin' Lolli
+ PsychoKnife


IMPORTANT LINKS
+ NCLR
+ James Randi
+ Left Hand Brewery!


Must Read
+ Stepfordtart
+ GolfWidow
+ Kristin Tracy
+ Dusty Scott

+ annanotbob

+ Daniel

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Designed by Golf Widow

2010-08-25 � 10:47 p.m.

Back to Spokane

Well after an eventful 8 months at home, I�m back on the road � as you may have divined from the title. I was working on a project at a University about 40 miles from home. It was fun and I met a lot of great people, (hi Jessica!) but all things must come to an end. As all 3 of you know, I was in Spokane (nearly) for one week shy of a full year, and though I was ready to leave the project about 2 months before I did, I had a really great time there.

One of the guys that worked for me in Spokane met a lovely local girl and he decided to stay, after having been on the road for 5 years. Who can blame him? The company knew him, he did great work for them, and although initially they were interested in me (well, I was the first one they talked to, anyways) I recommended him. Since he�d already built up a sold relationship with them and wanted to stay, he got the gig. I liked it, but I live in Colorado.

Anyways, this company in Post Falls, Idaho had started an expansion project, and they wanted me back. So here I am. I really do like it here in the Spokane area, however, and I�ve made a lot of friends in my time here. More than that, the best sushi I�ve ever had has come from here, and the sushi place is walking distance from my apartment! Whee!

Getting back into the groove of being on the road is sort of a different rhythm for me after being home, being in a band, and being able to sleep in my own bed every night. The big challenge right off the jump is the actual apartment. No hotels for this kid! Well, except for that first week. Moving on. I like the apartment and complex. I have a 2-bedroom, 1-bath this time, which is plenty since I�m not sharing the apartment this time. The client pays for the apartment, it�s furnished, and housekeeping comes round once every other week to clean out the shitter and stuff.

It�s great to have this apartment, but the drag is first moving in. There isn�t a goddamn thing food-wise, and the initial expense of getting a basic kitchen in order hits the wallet pretty hard. I started at Costco for the big things, like cereal, bread, refried beans, real Italian Parmesan cheese, salad stuff, chicken, etc. You know, important stuff. I also got a new iPod stereo, since the one I bought in 2008 stayed home with The Girl.

I had to go to the regular supermarket to get the important things like cooking spray, oil, salt, pepper, spices, milk, eggs, coffee, � +�, butter, ketchup, mustard, mayo, and the like. This is the 4th time I�ve had to do this shopping trip in the last 2.5 years though, so I�m getting better at it. I don�t care to be Mother Hubbard, you see, and I actually do cook for myself from time to time when I�m not eating sushi.

It�s surprisingly daunting when you have to shop for EVERYTHING. There are so many things in your fridge that you take for granted. And yes, you occasionally run out of this or that, but how often do you buy salt and pepper? Butter? Bacon? Well, don�t worry about the bacon for now. It�s just surprising how many ingredients are required to make a simple sandwich. Then there�s the French Toast. Oh boy, I love my French Toast. It gives me something to do on the weekend too. Surprisingly, I like cooking even though I almost never do anything but the grilling at home.

That�s it for now, sorry for the long time between posts.

previous - next


Want to comment? Speak up! 3 Quips to Date


Anna - 2010-08-26 10:03:43
Good to hear from you. I'm still using my little wooden box for the intended purpose. Write more often, you lazy git! xx
-------------------------------
Jessica - 2010-09-22 01:08:49
Hi back at you TJ! :) Thanks for writing again, I love the little snapshots into your life!
-------------------------------
Stevie - 2010-10-05 13:56:15
u cook too! :)
-------------------------------


Last Five Entries

Goin' back to Cali - 2011-05-10
Healing - 2011-01-27
What if I hadn't done that? - 2010-11-10
Cousin Dave - 2010-09-13
Back to Spokane - 2010-08-25


Rings